Tartarus Press


Intrusions is a sewn hardback of 278+ xi pages, printed lithographically, with silk ribbon marker, head and tailbands,

and d/w.


Second Tartarus Press printing.


ISBN 978-1-905784-48-6


£40.00 inc free p&p worldwide


If you would like to receive your order by way of a tracked postal service please contact us directly at ray@tartaruspress.com



Robert Aickman


Introduction by Reggie Oliver


In his Introduction to this new edition of Intrusions, Reggie Oliver writes that Robert Aickman (1914-1981) ‘was one of the most original and interesting short story writers of the late twentieth century ... I wonder if the adjective “inconclusive”, so often applied to Aickman, is quite the mot juste. His stories all have a beginning, a middle and an end. They conclude, but the conclusion is not absolute: puzzles remain. How like life! Aickman is both a realist and a surrealist: or, to put it another way, his surrealism is real.’


Intrusions is the last collection of Aickman’s tales to be published in his lifetime. It includes: ‘Hand in Glove’, ‘No Time Is Passing’, ‘The Fetch’, ‘The Breakthrough’, ‘The Next Glade’, ‘Letters to the Postman’. This printing adds 'The Strangers', from The Strangers.


Cover artwork by Stephen J Clark of The Singing Garden.



'...the best stories to capture the ineffable nature of human existence and indeed, spirituality, in the broadest, and in Aickman's hands, the most disturbing sense of the word.' Rick Kleffel, The Agony Column

'This seventh collection - released in Aickman's sixty-sixth year - rivals his best work.' Mark Andresen, The Pan Review

'...a highly recommended book.' Mario Gauslandi, The Short Review


Also available:

We Are for the Dark (with Elizabeth Jane Howard)

Dark Entries

Powers of Darkness

Sub Rosa

Cold Hand in Mine

Tales of Love and Death


Night Voices

Go Back At Once

The Attempted Rescue

The River Runs Uphill


see also: Robert Aickman: An Attempted Biography by R.B. Russell


Robert Aickman: Author of Strange Tales:
























Copyright Tartarus Press 2024