A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 
b.1880 d.1948
Summers was an enigmatic and somewhat contraversial British clergyman and author, an authority in the fields of witchcraft, demonology and Restoration drama. He only wrote one supernatural story himself, "The Grimoire", but he is important in the genre especially for his editorship of The Supernatural Omnibus.
Anthologies edited by Montague Summers
The Grimoire and Other Supernatural Stories, Fortune Press (London), 1936
(Includes "Introduction", "The Vampyre" by J.W. Polidori, "Leixup Castle" by C.R. Maturin, "The Queen of Spades" by A.S. Pushkin, "The Polish Jew" by Erckmann-Chatrian, "Schalken, the Painter" by J. S. Le Fanu, "Wicked Captain Walshawe of Wauling," by J. S. Le Fanu, "Dickon the Devil" by J. S. Le Fanu, "The Haunted House of Paddington" by C. Oilier, "Chantry Manor-House" by Mrs. Hartley, "The Story of Salome" by Anonymous, "The Spectre Hand" by Anonymous "The Tregethans' Curse: or, the Weird Woman" by Anonymous, "The Grimoire" by M. Summers, "The Man on the Stairs" by Anonymous.
The Supernatural Omnibus, Gollancz (London), 1931
(Including: "Narrative of the Ghost of a Hand" by J. S. Le Fanu, "An Account of Strange Disturbances in Aungier Street" by J. S. Le Fanu, "Man-Size in Marble" by Edith Nesbit, "The Judge's House" by Bram Stoker, "Thurnley Abbey" by P. Landon, "The Story of the Spaniards, Hammersmith" by E. & H. Heron, "The Phantom Coach" by Amelia B. Edwards, "Brickett Bottom" by Amyas Northcote, "The Cold Embrace" by Miss Braddon, "How the Third Floor Knew the Potteries", A. B. Edwards, "Not to Be Taken at Bed-Time" by Rosa Mulholland, "To Be Taken With a Grain of Salt" by Charles Dickens, "The Signal-Man" by Charles Dickens, "The Compensation House" by C. Collins, "The Engineer" by A. B. Edwards, "When I Was Dead" by V. O'Sullivan, "The Story of Yand Manor House" by E. & H. Heron, "The Business of Madame Jahn" by V. O'Sullivan, "Amour Dure" by Vernon Lee, "Oke of Okehurst" by Vernon Lee, "Eveline's Visitant" by Miss Braddon, "John Charrington's Wedding" by E. Nesbit, "De Profundis" by R. Pater, "The Dream Woman" by W. Collins, "Singular Passage in the Life of the Late Henry Harris, Doctor in Divinity" by R. Barham, "The Spirit of Stonehenge" by J. John, "The Seeker of Souls" by J. John, "The Astrologer's Legacy" by R. Pater, "My Brother's Ghost Story" by A. B. Edwards, "Sir Dominick's Bargain" by J. S. Le Fanu, "The Bargain of Rupert Orange" by V. O'Sullivan, "Carmilla" by J. S. Le Fanu, "The White Wolf of the Hartz Mountains" by F. Marryat, "A Porta Inferi" by R. Pater, "Jerry Jarvis's Wig" by R. Barham, "The Watcher o' the Dead" by J. Guinan, "The Story of Konnor Old House" by E. & H. Heron, "Toussel's Pale Bride" by W. B. Seabrook.
ditto, Doubleday (New York), 1932
(This Doubleday edition also includes: "The Upper Berth" by F. M. Crawford, "The Hall Bedroom" by M.E.W. Freeman, "Hilary Maitby and Stephen Braxton" by M. Beerbohm, "The Canterville Ghost" by Oscar Wilde, "The Inmost Light" by Arthur Machen, "The Damned Thing" by A. Bierce.
The Doubleday edition, however, omits "An Account of Some Strange Disturbances in Aungier Street" by J Sheridan Le Fanu, "The Story of the Spaniards, Hammersmith" by E and H Heron, "The Cold Embrace" by Miss Braddon, "Not to Be Taken at Bed-Time" by Rosa Mulholland, "John Charrington's Wedding" by Evelyn Nesbit (sic), "The Seeker of Souls" by Jasper John, "The Astrologer's Legacy" by Roger Pater, and "Toussel's Pale Bride" by W B Seabrook.
Victorian Ghost Stories, Fortune Press (London), 1933
(Including: "Hugues, the Werewolf" by S. Menzies, "The Dream" by J.S. Le Fanu, "A Chapter in the History of the Tyrone Family" by J.S. Le Fanu, "The Dead Sexton" by J.S. Le Fanu, "The Italian's Story" by Catherine Crowe, "Round the Fire" by Catherine Crowe, "The Mysterious Stranger" [from the German], "The Ghost Detective" by M. Lemon, "The Shadow of a Shade" by T. Hood, "The Dead Man of Varley Grange" by Anonymous ,"The Ghost of the Bank of England" by Anonymous, "The Picture on the Wall" by Katherine Tynan, "The Story of Medhams Lea" by E. & H. Heron, "The Tomb of Sarah" by F.G. Loring.
Please click on the index to access authors by surname:
Return to Guide main page
Click here to email Tartarus Press
Click here to access Tartarus Press web pages

Page updated 20th April 2009